Where was I…

Sick, that’s right. A fever for sixteen days in a row. I recovered just in time for our week in Germany over Easter. Insert here a photo I wish I took: the car all packed, Felix and Antonia perched cheerfully in the front seats, looking for all the world like they were going to drive us to the ferry… A few days into our trip Felix came down with another nasty cold, resulting in very high fevers for a week and a half, and pretty much needing to sleep all the time. Antonia got it just in time for our return journey. She often vomits when she has a fever. Yep. Anyway… We were very relieved to arrive home on Easter Monday. We managed a few loads of washing, a lot of unpacking, and once the kids were asleep upstairs I collapsed on the sofa thinking – why do I feel so shivery… Cue another week of fever for me, with both kids also home sick. Yep. I’m finally feeling a little more human now and very much hoping that’s the end of fevers for a while. March was a write off.

Anyway, in the midst of all that, we BOUGHT A HOUSE! It’s beautiful. There’s lots of room for visitors, a lot of room for the kids to run outside, and it has a view of a fjord! We can’t quite believe it. We’ve been talking about looking for a bigger house for a while, but Michael kept saying we weren’t ready. A couple of weeks ago I started dragging the kids around to a few open inspections, just to get a feel for things. We’re not ready, said Michael. But then he looked on the website. What about this one, he said. It’s gorgeous, I said. We looked at it on the Friday before we left for Germany, and thought about it the entire time we were away. Our offer was accepted the day after we returned. I had to get my head around it a little because it’s a bit out of town (only a ten minute drive, but the house we’re in now is walking distance to town and to schools), and it will mean Felix will go to a different school to the one he would have started at if we’d stayed here. But in the end I thought why not. Let’s try it. So. There we are.

We take it over at the end of May. We’ve decided to change the kids to a different kindergarten, because their current one is out of town in the opposite direction to the house. This made me so sad. I feel awful about moving Felix away from his friends given that he only has one year left before school starts. But the new kindergarten is brand new and looks really nice, and he’ll get the chance to make new friends that he might be going to school with, so we think it will work out fine, and will simplify our lives considerably.

We’re excited. We went for a drive and an explore around our new neighbourhood today, and had a picnic by the fjord. We’re hoping that living out in the countryside will be the inspiration we need to start making more of all the fantastic hiking and exploring opportunities around here. It will be a busy couple of months as I have two conferences coming up in May and June, and Michael has a US trip at the end of April and a big conference for work the week after my conference in May, but we will make it. My Mum’s coming over in June and she won’t have to camp in the lounge room as we will have a whole spare room for her!

I haven’t been taking a lot of photos, but there are a couple lurking on the camera that I may find soon, but right now I just wanted to make sure I wrote something. I’ve missed you guys, all three of you. The kids have been adorable as always and I’ll try to write more about them soon. Felix has his first ever swimming lesson tomorrow evening, so we’ll see how that goes. But now, bedtime.

5 thoughts on “Where was I…

  1. OMG! Congratulations!! Oh, I’m over the moon for you all! [and so very, very glad March as passed…what a nightmare!!]. I can’t wait to see pictures of your new home! We LOVE country living so much. It’s really been the best move we’ve made since we left Chicago for this glorious place. If only we could afford to buy a home here…. Happily, now that R and I are able to work from home and we know what we need – a perfect fit school for M and land for me and my farm critters – we have begun thinking far outside our tiny island. Wishing we could even think outside our tiny country, but that may have to wait (unless a certain person – Who Shall Not Be Named – becomes president, in which case I’ll find a way to make it happen sooner!)…Hugs and Home Blessings to you!! xoxo

  2. Sorry you’ve been so poorly! What a horrid lurgy – you must be exhausted. But how marvellous about the lovely house. Congratulations, it sounds like an excellent move. Jxx

  3. Oh dear, I thought you must have caught that lurgy. I am sorry to hear you were so sick, Mel. Bravo about the house!! It sounds wonderful. It is lovely to have enough room for visitors. We now have two children living a fair distance away, as well as Kevin who will need a spare room to visit for most of his life, I suppose. So suddenly a house everyone grew up in looks a bit smaller, even though they don’t live here any more. Well done to secure something you like so quickly 🙂

Leave a Reply

