Wednesdsay night

Ten past eight on Wednesday night, mist outside, the candle on the table from dinner still burning. Sleeping children upstairs. In a moment I will finish tidying the kitchen (Michael’s done most of it), have a shower, and read the end of the novel I am teaching tomorrow, making notes as I go. Any and all of that may be interrupted by dear Antonia, but I have already settled her once this evening, so she might sleep for a while. Antonia has been doing better at barnehage this week but she was so tired this evening I wish I had picked her up just a little earlier. Next time.

Our day started at 4 this morning when she wouldn’t go back to sleep. Thankfully we both squeezed in an hour’s nap between 6 and 7 before we had to leave.

My parents left on Monday and it was sad. A full day teaching sonnets on Tuesday cheered me up, and we are doing ok. I had a swim at lunchtime with a friend (I have a pool at work! And one of my best friends works in the exams office and can come swimming with me!), and now my shoulders are pleasantly sore. Oh, the laundry. I forgot about the laundry. Maybe I’ll fold a load of washing before I get to the novel… Maybe not.

Things Fall Apart. It is a quick read and powerful and I’ll never forget how much it moved me when I encountered it as one of the first texts I studied at Adelaide University. This time as I re-read it it touched me differently. As a mother of two children, the description of the loving sibling relationship between Nwoye and the doomed Ikemefuna just about undid me. I actually had to rush out of my office for a breath of different air.

This is my fourth week back at work and I am just about used to it. I’m teaching two literature classes and it’s busy but manageable. It could unravel fast if (when) the kids get sick. I’m sure I will stumble on through.

As I walked back to my car this afternoon it struck me – this is my job now, mine. And it was a nice nice thought.

Antonia took a couple of unassisted steps yesterday – she hardly noticed – she just wanted to get to the door to go outside. It was raining, so I didn’t open it. This evening I acquiesced and we had a little walk together up our driveway and onto the quiet road. She held my hands and stepped and stepped, occasionally getting down on hands and knees, drenching her jeans in the process, to investigate stones or weeds. She was just so excited when we encountered people walking by. ‘Ah! Ah!’ she called to make them look at her, and then she beamed. ‘So flink du er å gå!’ They all said.

I put her to bed a little early then made some promised custard for Felix which we ate together before we cleaned his teeth, and as he chatted away I thought – how lovely he is. How lucky am I.

4 thoughts on “Wednesdsay night

  1. Had to put “So flink du er å gå” into Google Translate! I really must learn Norwegian…otherwise, how will I ever be allowed to move there?!? It is so lovely…all of it (even the 4am waking as I, too, am almost always awake at that hour). So flink du er å gå! Yes, that’s how it looks from here, too. Hugs to you all!

  2. I found getting some kind of balance between work and home, when my girls were really small, was quite difficult. It’s marginally better now… Do you teach at a tertiary level?

    • Yes – so it’s probably bit easier than teaching at a high school, because there are fewer contact hours. I teach two days a week and have the other days free for preparation and research. That said, there’s a paper I’ve been working on for over a year that I need to finish this weekend. Not feeling like getting back to it now (Friday evening), but I pretty much have to…

      • That does sound a lot easier than what I am presently doing (0.6 over four days) – it’s busy and draining. Plus, high-schoolers are needy! Good luck with your paper writing. I’m supposed to be marking exams this weekend but have zero motivation.

Leave a Reply

