Summer rain

It’s raining and still a little light at 10pm. I’m sitting in my office room, which has been recently cleared of more than a hundred exam papers, and is calm, white, inviting. Today was my last day at work at the barnehage for a while. Summer holidays start tomorrow, and then I have six months leave in order to take up a full-time temporary post at the University College in my town. I’m excited and a little nervous. Before my summer holidays start for real, I need to finish off a very important job application, due Monday, but here I am, writing on my blog instead.

I felt a little strange at work today, because I didn’t know whether I was saying goodbye or not. The afternoon was warm with a threat of rain so the kids wore their rain trousers and boots and peddled madly on the tricycles and bounced on the bouncy balls and splashed in the puddles and dug in the sand. There are two job applications in the works, and if either of them comes through (far from a certainty) I won’t be coming back to work in the barnehage. I’ve been away a lot this semester, due largely (though not entirely) to my teaching commitments, so I felt less in tune with the place than I would have liked. In any case, I have good friends there, and Felix will continue to go there, so I’ll maintain a connection with the staff and the children. Several of the children in my class have just turned four, and I’ve been working with them for three years. To see them grow up from babies to chatty, clever little people who can write their own names in the role book is quite extraordinary.

Michael has been away this week but it is much less exhausting being alone with Felix now he is a little older. Can’t wait to spend more time with my little man throughout July. He’s so incredibly entertaining at the moment, and loves acting out scenes from his favourite Thomas the Tank Engine stories with his trains and buses, complete with snippets of dialogue and renditions of the theme song.

5 thoughts on “Summer rain

  1. It sounds like there are many exciting things on the horizon for you. I do wish you well on the job front! And I hope you have a love summer. I try to enjoy it, but do loathe the weather ;-). Things are shifting for us, too…I am close to submitting M’s Australian citizenship papers, daily checking the AU job boards for R, and plan to start an on-line librarianship certificate program in the fall…hope to make the sea change by the end of 2014. We’ll see…but, as always, hope it coincides with our being together again on one continent or another soon. xoxo, S.

  2. Good luck on your job applications! I would think the Norwegian language exams certainly would add to your CV and make you more desirable… Best of luck!!

  3. You capture your sense of being between things so well. Good luck with the jobs, Meli. It has been cool watching Felix grow on this blog, too.

Leave a Reply

