A good day

Sorry about the text-heavy blog lately. If I had remembered to take my camera with me today I would have taken a photo of Felix in his pram, with his matching Norwegian hat and mittens and velvety black coat, beaming at me.

This week was my fourth week back at work, and the first week I managed to work a full four days (the other weeks Felix or I or both of us had been sick). Spending so much time away from him is tough, even though I work in the room next door to him. When I leave him the image I feel in my heart is that of a small tree being ripped out of the earth, its roots dangling. I am not sure which one of us is the tree. And then when I pick him up at the end of the day, I feel a constellation springing back into life within me – stars lighting up, as though someone re-connected the electricity.

(Mind you, at 9pm, and 11pm, and 1am and 3 and 4 and 5am I am not so pleased to hear from him.)

But today was our day together, and we spent the morning in town. Felix was his sparky, charming self for the first time in weeks – I think he has been feeling quite under the weather until now. He pointed excitedly at all the children we passed; he showed the shop attendants his mittens. When we went into the wool shop, he exclaimed ‘ba! ba!’, excited to be in a shop filled with balls.

We stopped for a coffee in my favourite child-friendly cafe. He ate a fair portion of my cinnamon bun, and then played happily, first with a toy microwave and then with some tiny wooden cars. ‘Brrrrm, brrrrrm’, he said as he pushed them across the floor. Watching him, I was so happy I cried. When I drove him back up the hill, he sang ‘Mama mama mama’ all the way.

2 thoughts on “A good day

  1. Oh Meli! How wonderful. You bring tears to my eyes…tears of joy for a Mama so in love, tears of sadness for how hard it must be to leave him while you’re at work. I often wonder, often with horror, if I would have been the same had I ever been able to leave my boy before he was 2 3/4 as I fear I would not. However, I am happy to report that now, when I go to pick him up after his 1/2 day at school, I am missing him and ready to be reunited. Better late than never, I suppose. xoxo

  2. Oh you might have been pleased to see him after a good break! It’s also possible that I would enjoy my time away from Felix more if I was doing something other than looking after other people’s children…

Leave a Reply

