Kennecott copper mine

The last few times we were in Salt Lake City, we said to ourselves – we really should go have a look at that copper mine. But we didn’t do it till last weekend. It was a good time to go, with the snow powdering the upper terraces. When they had the Winter Olympics in Salt Lake City in 2002, all the medals were made with metal from the mine.

I started writing this last night when Felix woke up (after sleeping all of ten minutes) and decided he wanted to cry for three hours (with short bursts of being consoled by me). Eventually I took him for a walk in the cold, windy night (it’s so windy here!), and this distracted him enough that he went to sleep when we came home. While we were out I stopped for a hot chocolate at the cupcake shop. It was so sweet that I could only drink half of it. Today, at the Barnes and Noble, I overheard someone ordering a chocolate coconut cappuccino.

Anyway, here are a couple more pictures of the mine. I love how the huge trucks look like matchbox toys. Michael has been away at a conference all week and boy am I ready for him to come home tonight.

8 thoughts on “Kennecott copper mine

  1. Oh you poor dear…single parenting is the pits (arrr, arr, arr…pits – get it ;-). Ok, it’s late. I’m a bit punchy. So, um about that chocolate coconut cappuccino…that’s something my DH would respond to with “only in America” and I would add “thank goodness” and order up my double espresso. Hugs to you and Felix. May deep sleep come to you both tonight.

  2. I had no idea you could still get snow end May/June in USA. Interesting colours in the mine pictures. I have been cleaning out our pond here today, and it is so hot, I am exhausted. Hope Felix is a little angel tonight.

  3. Pingback: Coffee Loyalty Suite | Christen Toepel

  4. Pingback: Coffee Loyalty Suite - Christen Toepel

Leave a Reply

