Beautiful Berlin

It was a weekend more reminiscent of the gorgeous sunny visit to my brother last September than the rainy but lovely couple of days we spent there this May. Sigh. I would love to live in Berlin. I have thought so for ten years, and every time I visit I think it even more.

We went to our favourite pizza place twice, ate many falafels, waffles, and seriously good slow breakfasts.

We did one day of touristy things with my aunt, before deciding to leave them to it and sticking to the cafes, parks and flea markets.

Michael took lots of pictures. I didn’t take any.

I found an amazing fabric shop and bought fabric covered in fairytale characters, mushrooms, dinosaurs and birds. Now I’m not sure what to do with it – I just chose the ones I liked and didn’t really think about whether they would go together…

This is me gazing wistfully through the locked door on Sunday – I had hoped against hope that I could go in for a second look. (But now I have found the online shop! Hmmm…)

My aunt was super excited – about seeing us, but especially about seeing her son and his wife, who she hadn’t seen for over a year, and who are expecting a baby the same week I am. Here we all are comparing baby bumps:

I’m not sure what Joseph is brewing in this one:

The leaves were just about to turn.

Lots more photos here.

5 thoughts on “Beautiful Berlin

  1. ooh you can make some cushions for starters with that fabric.
    Toys? And wall hangings for nurseries?? wie schon.
    I’m going to have a good look at that online shop too, thanks for the link.

    And I just love that picture of all you young parents in waiting. thank you.

  2. They are lovely photos:-) It looks such a happy, relaxed stay and I think your priorities when you were there were just right. Parks, cafes and flea markets would be my ports of call too.

    Thanks for a lovely post, Meli:-)

  3. Pingback: A long week « northern lights

  4. Pingback: A distant cousin « northern lights

Leave a Reply

