A ridiculous amount of good news for one day

I got an email from Oslo University last night, asking if I wanted to teach a course on colonial and postcolonial literature in the spring. I emailed them ages and ages ago, and they said they didn’t have anything at the moment but they’d keep me in mind. I hadn’t expected to hear from them again. I can’t tell you how happy this makes me. Much bouncing was involved.

I was worried that I wouldn’t be able to do it, because I will be in Australia for a completely wonderful conference during the first week of teaching, so I’ll need to start a week late. But they emailed back today and said that’s fine. I got this second email at work, during my break. There was more bouncing, to the astonishment of my colleagues.

It’s just two hours a week, so I’ll keep working three days at the kindergarten. But I will teach the entire course by myself, and there will be a mix of BA and MA students. I can’t believe my good fortune.

 

9 thoughts on “A ridiculous amount of good news for one day

  1. Wonderful. You are on your way. I can feel it in my bones – something about messages that we deposit here and there and the answer comes back, unbidden, unforced. No obstacles here! Just wonderful.

  2. Clare M here, from Melbourne, we met at Leeds. I just wanted to say that I love your house! I can’t believe you get to live there either. I know it is the wrong country, but you are going to have a lot of bergmann-esque moments there…

  3. thank you all!

    and hello clare – how lovely to hear from you! i never did get around to blogging about that conference – my head was full of many things at that time… there were a couple of posts i meant to write that are still swimming around in my head. can you blog a conference months and months after the event? the nicest thing about the conference for me was a series of serendipitous (and mostly blog related) encounters – yours included!

Leave a Reply

