Days and Years

It will never be today again. Never. He would not, in all his life, make another discovery more shattering.

Randolph Stow, The Merry-go-round in the Sea

In the last few hours of being 29, the loss of my twenties felt like some kind of a death. When you are in your twenties you believe you will be in your twenties forever. That is, until you reach 28. Or, more worryingly, 29. But although I spent most of last year thinking ‘well, I’m nearly 30 now’, the actual cut-off point approached with alarming finality.

Most people tell me that being 30 is just like being 29. And it is. And it isn’t. I guess the contrast is pretty stark for me because I just passed my PhD two weeks ago. It feels pretty good to have passed, I must say. It felt pretty good to hand in, too. But in retrospect, the two months between submission and my viva were strangely liminal. Not a student, not a doctor. The thesis was finished, but not examined. I wasn’t overly worried, and made the most of the spare time, traveling and hanging out with my family and eating cake. But I feel so much better now. So much better. One identity is lost forever. But another one is offered to me, one that I can put in my pocket like a magical golden coin that no one can ever take away.

I loved my twenties. I worked as a care assistant for people who needed it. I picked some pears. I wrote some poems. And a long complicated story about a dragon. I finished quite a lot of degrees. I won quite a lot of scholarships. I learnt to fly. I climbed some mountains. I was sad for a short time but I got over it. I lived in seven different houses, in four different towns, in three different countries. I changed my mind. I crashed my car. I met my beloved. I flew very high indeed, high above the mountains and the wrinkled sea, right up to the belly of the clouds.  I moved to England. I fell in love with the dales and the grey stone walls. I gave conference papers. I moved to Norway. I wandered around Pompei, Assisi, St Petersburg, Berlin, Bergen, Petra, Budapest, Jerusalem, York, New York, Las Vegas. I slept on many people’s couches, and futons, and floors. I rode my bike in the rain.

I know I have been extraordinarily lucky. And there’s nothing to say I can’t keep doing any of those things. Although I hope I will never again need to do so many degrees! Numbers and years remind one quietly of mortality. The thirties might be very different. But that’s just fine.

8 thoughts on “Days and Years

  1. Beautiful photos. I love the soft limpid water, and the angle of the fortress with the white steeple in the foreground in your new header. Such richness, to be savoured day by day as you so clearly do.

  2. So far, I am a fan of being in my 30s. But my 20s were not quite as joy-packed as yours. Joy-packed, to be sure, but not quite as joy-packed as yours.

    For me, though, it was a little stranger when my younger brother turned 30 this year than when I turned 30 three years ago.

  3. My twenties kind of ended while I was 28, with Lily’s birth. All of my young freedom suddenly disapeared and I did feel a bit bereft. However, what came up to replace it has been just as cool. Turning 30, for me, just seemed to reinforce that feeling. I’m sure that you’ll have a wonder decade!

    Now I just need to go and learn to fly…

  4. Thanks guys!

    Cristy – Yes, I imagine it is quite different hitting 30 with a child than without one… If you and Dr S are anything to go by, 30s should be just fine.

Leave a Reply

