Bunking down in Bingley

Here’s the chinmey. Pretty cool, huh? There’s lots of them, all along the canal. I walk past this one to get to the train station. I love this part of the world.

The days I don’t need to go to the library I write here, watching the rain and swirling autumn leaves. It’s nice. I’m here till Wednesday next week, so I’ll see how much I can get done.

My brain has very little to spare. I’m meeting supervisor one tomorrow. Things are coming together. Better get back to it…

5 thoughts on “Bunking down in Bingley

  1. Lovely picture of my favourite part of the world too. Thanks for that. Glad you’re feeling more settled now and the work is progressing. Let’s hope supervisor 2 doesn’t throw a spanner in the works when you visit.

    Liz

    xxx

  2. thanks liz! yep, the meeting went great. he read the whole thesis through last night, which i was mighty impressed by. i cannot believe i nearly have a thesis to hand in. (‘nearly’, in this case, meaning in sight but still an awful lot of tidying up of edges. i don’t think i will quite achieve a december hand-in, but i will aim for it as the best way of getting a lot of work done quickly. still. hurrah!) how’s your work going?

  3. My work seems to have taken a downturn at the moment as I am working at the weekends and doing a lot of travelling (not as much as you of course). I started teaching last week which involves a 500 mile drive every week (there and back)to Swansea. I felt like a lamb to the slaughter and it was so difficult to get them to talk. Hopefully I’ll do better this week. Any suggestions? I have to discuss gender theory (Irigaray and Butler which I find hard to understand myself). I will then need to get back into my work because the longer you leave it the harder it is to get back.
    Glad your meeting went well. I’m impressed too that your supervisor read the whole of your dissertation in one sitting, it must have been good. If you aim for December you’ll probably make it by early January and then you’ll be finished !!!!
    Liz xxx

  4. Just take it one day at a time and remember that everything you do is progress one way or another. At the moment I’m looking back over notes I took two years ago in order to rewrite the chapter I wrote then, and I’m finding them incredibly useful. I knew what I was looking for back then but I didn’t know what to do with it…

    Good luck with the teaching. And remember not to be intimidated because you know far far more than they do. If they are a quiet bunch you just need to help them feel comfortable (as well as making sure they do the preparation!) Something that often works is giving them very small, very specific things to prepare, and then forcing them to talk about it – for example, allocating two of them per week to explain the main points of an article. What helped me when I was teaching some theory stuff a couple of years ago was to focus very closely on the extract they were asked to read – they can get their teeth into it and it’s a bit of a puzzle. Discussions work well when it’s okay for them to make mistakes – you just have to make sure you correct them – or help them to correct each other – if they are blatantly wrong.

    Also keep in mind how they’re going to be asked to use this stuff later in their essays, and think about ways to help them practice this. One of my friends used to put all the names of the characters from Great Expectations in a hat, and the student would have to give a Marxist interpretation of whichever one they picked out.

    That said, apparently some groups never come round no matter what you do, but I’m sure you’ll be fine!

  5. Pingback: More chimneys, and a happy song « northern lights

Leave a Reply

