I’m not me, I’m my friend

I was talking to a good friend from Adelaide the other night, and she asked me the dreaded question: what are you going to do when you finish? I took a deep breath to stem the customary flow of panic. I have a new technique, I told her. When I think about my future, from now on I’m going to pretend I’m not me, but someone I know. Cos when I’m talking to a friend who’s panicking about their future, I look at them and think: you’re talented, hard-working, educated, nice – it’s going to work out for you in the end. Maybe not tomorrow. But sometime. (I’m thinking about one friend in particular who was desperate last year but has now landed a great job in publishing.)

This works for me when I’m editing my writing, too. I love helping other people with their essays. But I get sick of staring at my own work. And nervous about finishing it. But if I pretend the writing belongs to someone else, it suddenly isn’t so threatening. Speaking of which, I’d better get back to it…

5 thoughts on “I’m not me, I’m my friend

  1. That’s very good advice. I hate editing my own writing. I think it’s more difficult than doing the writing in the first place. I’m just about to start working now so I’ll look at it as if it’s someone else’s.
    Have a good day

  2. robi-d: yes, i suppose it could lead to problems…

    fifi: what a nice thought!

    liz: good luck with the writing and i hope you weather the storm everyone’s talking about. is it bad over there? here it’s just freezing cold with persistent rain…

Leave a Reply

