Thinking Blogger Award

Last week the very lovely penni awarded me a ‘thinking blogger award’, which really made my day. I find penni’s blog eglantine’s cake fascinating, as she talks about writing and motherhood and young adult fiction – all things I wouldn’t mind getting into at some point… (Also I was super-pleased because she liked my post about paragliding, always a good thing.) Anyway, it’s sort of a meme, and you’re supposed to nominate five more blogs. The rules are here, and here are five blogs that I love!

1. Stephanie Trigg’s Humanities Researcher. This is the first blog I ever read, and it’s what sold me on the blogging idea. Stephanie is a medievalist at the University of Melbourne, and she started the blog to track the (long and tortuous) progress of applying for an Australian research grant. Shortly after that, however, she was diagnosed with breast cancer, so, in her words, the blog ‘mutated to include more reflections on the interplay of the personal and the professional’. Which it does. Her writing is beautiful and touching and clever and funny, and it gives academia a human face.

2. Strange Fruit. Fifi’s poetic posts and beautiful images, as well as the calm, peaceful way in which they are always laid out, provide the perfect balm for any day. A mix of art, poetry, the Australian landscape, birds and fishes, and longings to fly.

3. firstperson thirdcat. An Adelaide blogger, and therefore close to my heart. Thirdcat’s writing is witty, quirky, wry, and always a pleasure.

4. Poppalina. Ooooh, this one’s lovely. Shula follows a pattern: Mosaic Monday, Flashback Friday, and Breakfast Sunday, and I don’t know which one I like best. Well, at the moment it’s Breakfast Sunday, as I’m currently obsessed with food and her breakfasts are to die for. There’s always lots of pictures, and lots of colour. This is a profoundly hopeful blog, with generous helpings of yoga and craft on top of the ingredients mentioned above, although it touches at times on the darkest sides of life.

5. Old English in New York, by Mary Kate Hurley. Another medievalist blog (there’s thousands of them). Mary Kate is a graduate student living in New York, and what I really like about this blog is the thought and care she puts into her ideas and the lovely, succinct way she expresses them. She’s just as likely to be talking about Neil Gaiman’s new adaptation of Beowulf or the space centre at Disney World as about Augustine’s Confessions, and she has a passion for Doctor Who. This, in my opinion, is a very good thing.

So there you go. Blogs give such interesting windows into lives completely different from your own, or which sometimes seem refractions on your own – where you could have been or might be one day, or would have been if something had been different… I like them. Thanks guys.

Now, I’m off to eat some brown cheese.

11 thoughts on “Thinking Blogger Award

  1. Glad you are feeling better. Thanks for the list of blogs. I checked out all of them. I find I can travel far and wide, both geographically and intellectualy, by following links on blogs I enjoy. Sandy

  2. aw, thanks, Meli,
    I am honoured.

    Thank you for the award. I love your blog, just having you come visit is reward in itself.

    Shall apply myself to responding to it!!

  3. I’m intrigued that you said that writing and young adult fiction were things you might like to get into- I think you already have! I can recommend motherhood too!

  4. Hi 🙂 I just found you via Stephanie Trigg’s thinking blogger post… I read your profile and I’m now really curious as to what a PHD on “Australian Medievalism” is. A PHD on the history of the study of medieval history in Australia, i suppose. I’m curious as to what’s unique about australian medievalists, though… humour my curiousity?

    *Highly, a wannabe medievalist from Sydney

  5. Thanks for dropping by, highlyeccentric. Australian medievalism is any way in which the Middle Ages is represented in Australia. Academic research and teaching is one way, but there’s also lots of other ways: the gothic architecture of our cities and universities, collections of William Morris stuff, movies, books, poetry. I’m looking at representations of the Middle Ages in the novels and poetry (mainly poetry) of four Australian writers. It’s interesting to think about whether there’s anything specific about Australian medieval historians, though! I don’t know…

  6. aha, i see… that does look like a very fun way to spend a PHD 🙂

    who are your four authors? Stowe and Murray, i gathered from your next post (why have i never heard of these people???), and the other two are…?

    My favourite has been Sara Douglass, ever since she moved away from straightforward quest fantasy (although that was fun) and got her hands dirty with something closer to historical fiction. Historio-fantasy? Supernatural Historical fiction? Whatever you call it, she’s convinced me that ex-academics really do make the best medieval fantasy authors.

  7. My writers are: Les Murray, Randolph Stow, Kevin Hart and Francis Webb. Webb is probably the most obscure – he’s a bit of a ‘poet’s poet’ – loved by other poets but not really known by many other people. Les Murray is really wonderful, you should check out his collection ‘Translations from the Natural World’ (some links here with Anglo-Saxon riddles). I’ve never read any Sara Douglass, but I’ll keep an eye out for her – thanks for the recommendation.

    If you’re interested in more details, you can google ‘les murray medievalism’ and you’ll find a paper I gave earlier this year that was published in the Australian.

  8. aha, i *have* heard of Les Murray before… either i’ve never read any or, more likely, i’ve read some at school or online or somewhere and then forgotten what it is. The name Kevin Hart also sounds vaugle familiar…

    also found the article. looks fun, i shall file it away for another day’s procrastination…

Leave a Reply

