November

Each November since I defected to the northern hemisphere has been a struggle. Things seem to lift in December, strangely. But November is the drizzly tail-end of autumn and the beginning of the dark and you are tired. The unpleasantness of this particular November is amplified by the stacks of marking which have to be done on top of the already more than full time teaching prep. But each week passes. Tonight Michael was in Oslo for the evening so I took Felix out to our favourite cafe for dinner. I had a salmon burger; he had a bun.

‘It’s all dark here!’ He said as we walked back. ‘We can’t see very well! It’s all dark! And there are lights! This light and this light and this light!’ And I paused, and looked back at the little golden lights of the main street, glowing in the chilly air and on the cobblestones. And I thought – this is November’s gift – the new dark and the little lights.

Yesterday Felix boycotted Halloween. He’s very fussy about clothes and there was no way he was wearing a costume – not a black cat for me, nor a pumpkin for Michael. He was the only child in the barnehage who wasn’t dressed up. In the evening, we talked about Halloween, and he said – ‘I like Christmas. Shall we make a star for Christmas? Shall we do that now?’ So we did.

3 thoughts on “November

  1. Aaaah…you two! So sweet and very observant. I like November (but that probably doesn’t surprise you much ;-). I’ve never thought about why before, but perhaps it is as you say, “the new dark and the little lights”. Warm hugs and love to you both!!

  2. Living in cold Minnesota, I can emphasize with you! Love your little blond boy and his hair. Every time I really love my grandsons’ (5 of them) hair, they get a haircut. Hope you had a wonderful Christmas with lots of candles.

Leave a Reply

